Rumors not Exaggerated

by

Just like Jon Bon Jovi, I am alive and well. Unlike him, nobody has rumored my death (that I am aware of), regardless of my failure to post much. Recently some ongoing troubles have been destroying my motivation and, for the combination punch, I have been extremely busy. Fortunately this means lots of fun bits to write about; however, it leaves me unable to post.

Winter Solstice occurs tonight and, as usual, I will participate in one of the cutest Japanese traditions I have learned. Eating kabocha (カボチャ・南瓜) – a kind of squash – and soaking in yuzuyu (柚子湯) – a hot bath with fresh citron in it, is said to guarantee one good health during the winter. Perhaps the cutest aspect of this tradition is when a foreigner asks why these items have some special connection to disease prevention, the response is often that they are yellow.

Often in Japanese there is some homophonic meaning behind traditions like this, so one might expect yellow to have another meaning… but it does not. Also, in my Bart Simpson like mind, this always begs the question, “Can I eat something else yellow instead?” This is met with uncomfortable consternation, like so many of my jokes.

Regardless of the ambiguous origin of this tradition, I enjoy getting some tasty and healthy squash in my belly and I really enjoy fresh fruit fragrance while soaking in my 42 degree tub.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Rumors not Exaggerated”

  1. KatiesCameraBlog Says:

    Oh, that hot bath sounds heavenly. I need to start a Solstice tradition like that. 🙂 Happy Solstice!

  2. Yousei Hime Says:

    I would love some kabocha squash. I have such a hard time finding it here (though I can find it, which is a bit miraculous). I’m glad to see you back here. Hope life improves and leads to more and more writing.

  3. びっくり Says:

    We enjoyed our bathing immensely. Although there has been a lot of stress here lately, the holiday season was also filled with lots of friends, family, good deeds, eating, drinking, celebrating, and the like. I had to work on the 4th, 5th, and 6th, but am in the midst of a three day weekend before all the children arrive back at schools.

Leave a Reply

