Guess I’ll Be Working

by

Watching the news today, I heard that they will raise the retirement age in Japan again. They previously raised the retirement age from 60 to 65 and introduced a plan to ramp people up who were close to retirement age. Wouldn’t want to tell someone who wanted to retire next month that she’d have to make a new plan to continue working for another five years, would you? This time they are raising the age from 65 to 68, so they have introduced three different plans to ramp people up. Everything moved off the screen pretty fast, but a quick calculation shows I’m probably young enough that there won’t be any ramping up for me; I’ll be eligible at 68.

Of course, my situation is more complex because I am an American and am also in the Social Security system. There is a type of cooperative set up between our two countries, but it doesn’t include combining the funds. Probably, I will be retiring at two different ages in two countries. Something fun to research.

Realistically I am concerned about the likelihood of getting funds from either unless both countries get some issues resolved. Perhaps I need to find a way to get my own little farm going.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Guess I’ll Be Working”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    Well the retirement age here will likely be raised too. I’ve heard rumors that it will go up to 70. My financial planner is planning my retirement savings and my husband’s without considering social security. She takes the better safe than sorry approach which I appreciate. Still, at the way things are going, sometimes I think I will never be able to retire.

  2. びっくり Says:

    I thought I would retire early, but may actually end out in the not able to retire boat; especially if we start having children. So, I need to make sure I am doing something I enjoy and that I won’t be let go from for being old.

Leave a Reply

