Death and Taxes

by

So, my life has really been about taxes for the past year or so. I’m trying to get all sorts of outstanding paperwork issues put to rest and get full acceptance from possibly the least-liked division of our government. The sheer volume of paperwork is overwhelming and each time we communicate with the officials, they find some more to do. I’m wondering if this has any end. (On a side note: I was shocked by my latest recalculation of our monthly balance sheets, key word: red)

Anyhow, I was expecting to take a break for a couple days and drive my in-laws to visit relatives – whom I have not yet met – in Niigata prefecture. In particular, one relative had been hospitalized, so we were really hoping to visit her. Unfortunately, less than 24 hours before departure we were awakened with a call informing us that I will be driving the family to funeral services. Another reminder of how precious and fleeting life really is.

My introduction to family will still take place; however, protocol will demand more subdued celebration. We also had to interrupt other activities today for some emergency clothes shopping: my wardrobe lacked a couple of weather and ceremony related items. We will depart in just over 4 hours, so it’s off to bed for me.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Death and Taxes”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    So sorry for your loss, as well as how that changes your greetings. 😦

  2. びっくり Says:

    The trip turned out well, all things considered. My mother-in-law’s relatives are as kind as she is. They were all pleased to meet me and welcomed me with open arms (and bottles). My wife hadn’t visited them in more than 20 years, so there were many watery eyes.

  3. titus2woman Says:

    AW~TY for sharing. That blesses me!

Leave a Reply

