The Seatbelt Convincer

by

We enjoyed traffic safety day at school today. Police liaison officers come to school, mark out an intersection and crosswalks in lime on the playground, set up remote controlled traffic signals and run the kids through some training.

Only watching from the warmth and safety of the office, I can’t inform about the spoken content; however, low visibility around large trucks (yes, they drove one onto the playground) and properly stopping before using crosswalks were on the agenda. However, just like the fairgrounds, there is always one ride which is king.

JAF (the Japanese equivalent of AAA or CAA) drove their truck out with The Seatbelt Convincer written boldly on the side. After opening the sides of the truck to make a stage displaying the contents, the fun began. A few students at a time climbed into a mock-up of the traveling compartment of a car. The car rolled along at 5 km/h and then was abruptly stopped to simulate an accident. Being shook up by this jolt, the students are presumably likely to understand that not wearing a belt in a 60km/h accident is deadly.

Considering I still see many toddlers climbing around in cars every day, I think this presentation is beneficial. Many people need convincing.

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “The Seatbelt Convincer”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    Very interesting truck! I used to LOVE “Safety Town” in elementary school. I don’t know if it’s still here or not, though a few years back they were saying it needed a remodel. Seat belts are the law here! What about car seats there? (((((HUGS)))))) sandi

  2. びっくり Says:

    Seatbelts are required by law. Not sure about car seats. Some families use car seats, but many are pretty lax about even the belts.

  3. titus2woman Says:

    *MERRY CHRISTMAS!*

  4. titus2woman Says:

    *HAPPY NEW YEAR!*

  5. bahia Says:

    I agree. When I was in Japan I was shocked at the way most kids never wear seatbelts. I even saw baby climbing around on the dashboard once. These trainings are definitely good!

  6. titus2woman Says:

    You have been gone a long time, my friend.

  7. びっくり Says:

    Merry Christmas! Happy New Year! Indeed, I have been gone too long. I need to start posting a bit and then maybe explain my absence. Cheers and thanks for thinking of me. I’ve been thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

