Back on Two Wheels

by

OK, OK, I promised this photo long ago. As most of you know, I was hit by a car on August 1st, 2009 and spent the better part of the year in physical therapy. My neck and hip still don’t feel right, but I am back on the bike. Before the accident I had my white bike decorated with red bar tape and we dubbed it the Hi no Maru bike. We call the Japanese flag, having a bright red dot on a pure white field, the Hi no Maru. After the accident, I wanted to renew my spirit by changing the look and feel of the bike. Also, because of the long recovery, I was hoping to celebrate a little as well.

Now the bike has purple bar tape and purple tires. Yes, that’s right, the tires are purple. They had some with purple sidewalls, but I opted for the entirely purple tires. My gloves and helmet are also new. Purple gear was hard to find, so I went with white to match the frame color. All this gives a clean and fresh look. Also, I picked up some Mavic wheels with a smaller number of flat spokes. They should roll a lot faster and decrease drag.

Here’s a photo of me leaving the pit area at the Suzuka F-1 Circuit where we raced on Saturday. I will write more about that, but I’m tired now.
Ready to Leave the Pit

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Back on Two Wheels”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    I LOVE IT!!!!! OH how I miss the fifteen-mile ride that used to carry me one way to work!!!! The wind in my hair… AAAHHHHH! I hafta say though, I’m terribly out-of-shape these days, but I’d still go for a ride~IF I wasn’t so afraid of the traffic! I’ve become phobic, and I’ve not even had an accident. I’m like that even in the car! 😦 (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. びっくり Says:

    Yeah, the roads around here are a little scary. I hope you find a way to get some rides in.

  3. Stefanie Says:

    You look great and so does your bike! I love the purple tires. Did they help you win the race?

  4. Dorothy W. Says:

    Nice photo! I’m so glad you’re better and back on the bike again. That’s great.

  5. びっくり Says:

    Certainly no winning going on, but we had a good time. I took the first two laps – at too high of a pace – and laid down in the pit while the next riders went out. After that it was fine. Certainly need to practice. I promised more photos didn’t I? Guess I better get those up.

Leave a Reply

