Full of Myself

by

Still in process of cleaning house, so I came across this one while purging documentation from the school board. As an aside: man is there ever a lot of unnecessary paperwork from the school board. They send us forms each March, letting us know we have been tentatively selected for work in April. Around the same time, they also send us example contracts in English and Japanese, because we usually don’t get our actual contracts until we’ve been working for about a month. Also, we get the same stack of hundreds of example lesson plans once or twice a year. Ironically, they fail to send us deposit notifications or tax information on any regular basis.

Anyhow, the first time I applied for a school board job, I was required to write an essay about a page long. I stumbled across it yesterday while cleaning. I was really torn while writing because I didn’t know who would be reading it. Should I write at primary level, so even a manager who hardly understands English can understand? Or, is a native speaker reading them to evaluate candidates’ abilities? I opted to use a variety of vocabulary (which can be looked up), and not overly complex sentence structure. For topic, I explained why I would want to teach, and specifically, why in Japan. I managed to slip in a plug or two about my abilities as well. I think it sounds a little stuffed shirt-ish. What do you think?

Many paths of development in my life have converged to create a desire to be an instructor in Japan. Realizing the power of knowledge and reason to aid in hurdling personal obstacles and larger conflicts prompts me to always be learning. Awareness of my connection to others fuels interest in teaching. Strong love for, and curiosity about, Japan and its ways drove me to choose this location.

Since childhood I have faced numerous challenges in life: some small and some large. Meeting these challenges successfully always required knowledge. Knowledge required to face challenges is more than just raw data and facts. Learning how information is applied and how to combine areas of study is critical in synthesizing solutions to greater problems. I consider myself fortunate to have had parents who supported the learning process. This provided me with the tools to protect myself and improve my situation.

None of us are individuals on this planet. Naturally, each person might have individual pursuits or interests; however, it is destructive for us to forget that we are all part of a greater whole. To deny this would be to forget all of the people who aided me in getting where I am today. This compels me to move beyond the selfishness of seeking only personal improvement. Providing assistance to my fellow man strengthens my bond to the world, while simultaneously improving the place in which I live. Teaching others provides benefit for both the student and the teacher: it is a role I enjoy.

Growing up in the Seattle area, sister city to Kobe since 1962 (sic), I was exposed to many traditional aspects of Japan: gardens, art, festivals, and such. This instilled a sense of the romantic character of the country. After college I had the opportunity to travel to Japan for business; coming 11 times between 1989 and 1992. With each trip I had more experiences which increased my interest until I accepted an assignment to live in Japan. Unfortunate business difficulties caused the cancellation of my relocation, but could not quench my desire.

That desire was satisfied in 2004 when I came to Japan to teach for Pacific Rainbow. Developing schedules, lessons, and curriculum for a range of students from 1 year old to 90 years old has allowed me to interact in Japanese society and learn about the people. Also, I have been able to pursue language study and calligraphy actively; and history and culture casually.

Living in Japan is challenging, yet rewarding. Teaching also, is challenging, yet rewarding. My hope is to continue on the path of being an instructor in Japan. To face these challenges and receive the rewarding experiences would bring me happiness.

After years of seeing the underbelly of the beast, I would take a wager that nobody ever read it. Immediately after sending it, I noticed the phrase ‘drove me to chose’, which I have corrected here. Also, today I noticed the date of 1962 for the Seattle-Kobe sister city relationship, which is a mistake. The sister city relationship started in 1957. In 1962 Kobe sent the friendship bell to Seattle for the Worlds Fair.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Full of Myself”

  1. madkat Says:

    Can you find the other misspelling?

  2. びっくり Says:

    There could be several since I typed this in by hand quickly on an IE machine which doesn’t have the built in checkers like Firefox.

  3. びっくり Says:

    Nope… ran it through a spellchecker and it couldn’t find any misspellings in the essay.

  4. madkat Says:

    Ooh! Now it becomes a scavenger hunt!!
    Here’s a hint: Spell check won’t find it.

  5. びっくり Says:

    Hmm… if spellcheckers don’t find it, it must be mysterious. I wonder if I’ll have time to go back and look for it anytime soon.

  6. madkat Says:

    Congrats! Looks like you solved the mystery.

  7. びっくり Says:

    Found a little time to go looking. It would have helped if you told me the general are to find it.

  8. madkat Says:

    Well, it was a scavenger hunt. I couldn’t give it all away on the first hint! Where would the fun have been in THAT?!?! I had more hints ready to go but, see, you didn’t even need them!

  9. びっくり Says:

    Oh, true enough. It is not a good ide to give away to much info at once. Even without knowing the general are, it was easy enough to spot by reading through once. Clearly spell-checkers are not the panace that some people think they are.

  10. madkat Says:

    The folks at Mens often send a ple to all the koal in Alask to put down their pizz, skip their siest on the sof, and spend extr time using their retin to check their dat.

  11. びっくり Says:

    You are stretching… I thought we were just dropping final the final a from words ending in ea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

