Mandatory Cooling Off Period

by

Bathing in very hot water is tradition in Japan. Often people will go to natural hot springs to soak in baths of various mineral content. Depending on the salts in the bath, different conditions are said to improve with regular bathing. Also, many people like the slippery texture of skin after relaxing in the spas. Although most homes use tap water in the bathroom, it is common to settle in to a 41 or 42 degree tub of water in the evening at home.

American readers might need a reference point, so 104 degrees F is considered maximum healthy temperature for a hot tub and that is 40 degrees C. Japanese people sometimes use hotter baths as well although I haven’t tried anything over 45 degrees. Health benefits and improved sleep claims are associated with this practice; however, friends who study non-traditional medicine have given me a caveat. For best health, it is recommended to cool off for about an hour before sleeping.

Check the time stamp for this post and you’ll see that I didn’t get my bath until late. We have a female house guest and a bath arrangement which doesn’t lend itself to use with multiple people milling around. Thinking it best not to expose myself to my wife’s friends, I opted to wait until they were settled in for the night. Once I cool off a little more I’ll doze off here.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Mandatory Cooling Off Period”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    AAHHHHH! Sounds like heaven to me! And what are the health cautions of not cooling off, if I may ask? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. びっくり Says:

    I kind of filtered out a lot of it, but I think it was something about going to bed too hot one would sweat and then risk catching cold. Although there was clearly something more, I’ll have to ask again.

  3. Fish Oil : Says:

    i like to dip on a hot tub every morning and before going to sleep, it is really nice,”*

Leave a Reply

