Tall Cool One

by

Demands on my time are high, but I am back in Japan, so it’s time to get posting. Summer this year was filled with activity and travel, so I have a lot of photographs to post as well. Parents Needle (straight)Recently I have been spending a little time learning about how to use GIMP (like Photoshop, but cheaper) as well, so I can trim and repair and adjust the photos a bit.

The second trip was to Seattle. My wife could not join us, so I took my parents-in-law on their first trip to my hometown. We arrived to the announcement that the weather was 12 degrees Celsius. I was sure the Japanese attendant had made a translating error since 20 degrees is just a transposition in Japanese and it certainly couldn’t be that cold. Well, the staff was accurate… it was cold. Fortunately it warmed up and we had beautiful weather the whole trip. A couple mornings had clouds and rain, but otherwise we were ecstatic.

One evening I took my parents along and all five of us enjoyed the Sky City restaurant at the top of the Space Needle. Certainly I have had better food and the prices are a bit high; however, the food was quite good and I was happy to pay for the view and the experience. King crab legs, salmon, seafood pasta, steak, and vegetable gateau were our selections. Everyone seemed pleased. We also ordered some Beecher’s cheese wrapped in prosciutto for an appetizer and sampled the wine. At the end of the meal we had chocolate cake and cobbler with ice cream.

We could clearly see all the way to Canada and Oregon, making it one of the best days of the year and our reservation included sunset.

Today’s photo is a composite of two photos made with some additional software I have been trying out.

Correction: This photo is a composite of three photos made with software from ArcSoft, but first I rotated all the images in GIMP so the tower would not appear bent. See the first attempt here.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Tall Cool One”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    ..Why can’t I get Roxette outta my head? ~smile~ (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. verbivore Says:

    I went once to the restaurant at the top of the space needle. I must have been about seven, and all I can remember is that I ate, three little burgers on three little buns. To this day, I was astounded at the tiny little hamburgers they made for kids.

    Lovely photo – I hope it was a nice trip! Did you take your in-laws to Uwajimaya?

  3. びっくり Says:

    Funny that you ask about Uwajimaya. My mother-in-law brought tools to perform tea ceremony, but seemed to have misplaced her tea. We went to Uwajimaya to find good enough quality matcha to satisfy her. I never got them to the big store in Seattle though. In the end, she discovered her tea in her baggage as well. (I knew she wouldn’t have forgotten something so important.)

Leave a Reply

