Promise Not Forgotten

by

二段合格My blog is full of unfilled promises right now. Hopefully during the summer I can make a list of them and start fulfilling them. Anyhow, here is one that’s been hanging out on the back burner. A few of my calligraphy works have been posted online, but my better works tend to be on the gasenshi (画仙紙), long paper often used for scrolls, which doesn’t fit nicely on a flatbed scanner.

Last July, I achieved 2nd dan (二段) which qualified me as a teacher for junior high level and below (中等師範) from my Tanabata work (七夕作品). My plan was to visit Lawson Station convenience store and make three scans of the top, middle, and bottom of the work. After that I would stitch the images together on my dual core and post it here. Around the time I was searching for appropriate software to merge the images, my computer problems started. I’ve managed to melt down both of my laptops a few times each.

Today, I had the files with me on a USB key, my time during 3rd period opened up, and I noticed my computer at this school had Panorama Maker from Arc Soft. Strike while the iron is hot, they say. The software was extremely simple to use (although it didn’t seem so at first, because of the UI) and in a minute it was all done.

I’ll write more about it later, but for now I’m just happy to have it up on the screen. If you click through, be careful; selecting the full-size image will take some bandwidth.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Promise Not Forgotten”

  1. madkat Says:

    Absolutely beautiful, as always 🙂

  2. びっくり Says:

    Thank you. Hopefully, I will get a chance in the near future to settle down and practice some more.

  3. kevenker Says:

    Very cool! Nice work!

  4. ロッキー Says:

    Wow, that looks really good. I’m gonna have to start taking some calligraphy classes. I’d love to be able to do something like that.

  5. titus2woman Says:

    HAY! Are there some missing posts? Just thinking about you and yer sweetie!!!! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

    • びっくり Says:

      Indeed there are many, many missing posts. Of course, they are missing because I haven’t written them. The break was not intentional, but it feels a little refreshing. Now that a lot of things are settling down, I think I’ll get back to posting.

Leave a Reply

