One Tough Day

by

Ironic that my previous post mentioned my upcoming time off being a chance for rest. Yesterday, I woke up short on sleep and not feeling the greatest. I got myself ready for work and ran for the train. When I got off in Tsu I biked in the rain to school. Something had encouraged me to wear my ski underwear and I was glad.

Temperatures were unusually cold and my Monday school was frigid all day. Even with the long underwear, I was shaking all day long. My joints and muscles were all aching horribly by the end of the day.

Both the Principal and Vice Principal at that school go out of their way to be offensive to me, and yesterday was no exception. Fortunately, it was my last day at the school, so I could just ignore their words and pretend like I was content.

After work, it was raining harder but I couldn’t go home because I was meeting someone in the evening. I stopped by an acquaintance’s place, hoping to crash for a bit and chat, but he was out. Also, I stopped by a business acquaintance’s place and she pretended like she didn’t know me. Finally, I stopped into the city library and slept on a chair which helped me feel a little better.

When I got home about 10pm, I checked my temperature and got about 37.7C which probably isn’t too bad, but I don’t know my base temperature. I took a hot shower and went to bed, waking up at 37.1C this morning.

Temperatures are funny. When I was a kid we always learned that 98.6F was normal body temperature. This equates to 37C. However, every Japanese person learns that 36.5C is normal body temperature – almost 1 degree F different. Anyhow, aside from stomach cramping, I’m doing pretty well today and tomorrow I have the day off.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “One Tough Day”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    Please forgive me, but reading this makes me wanna cuss on your behalf. I HATE IT when someone doesn’t like me~just because. ???? Anyway…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. Stefanie Says:

    What a hard day. Glad you are feeling better and get to have some time off.

  3. びっくり Says:

    Sandi – I especially hate it when someone doesn’t like me ‘just because’. I’m sure I give people all sorts of reasons to hate me, so I prefer they pick up one of those. 😉 I think this principal hated me because she asked me to teach a private class – in violation of my contract – and I politely declined.

    Stefanie – Thank you. Ironically, I have a cold now. Fortunately tomorrow and Thursday are days off. Next week I only work on Friday. After that, no work until after the honeymoon. Of course, there’s lots of planning and taking care of foreign visitors to be done.

Leave a Reply

