Thirteen Minutes to Go

by

Was it Andy Warhol who said in the future everyone will have their fifteen minutes of fame? Well, here we are a whole decade into the 21st Century and I’m getting approximately two minutes. Tuesday, I got a surprise phone call from a friend in Nagoya. He was helping a friend at Nagoya Television (or Meetere, as it is called) find an interviewee.

Initially I was very excited because it sounded like they were looking for a foreigner who was interested in Japanese culture. Studying calligraphy, stone seal carving, wood block etching, bamboo flute, Japanese pottery, rice straw rope making, etc., should qualify me for that; however, there was a small communication error. Really, they were looking for someone interested in Japanese history, and specifically, in Sakamoto Ryoma (坂本龍馬).

While I am interested in Japanese history, I don’t pursue it like I do culture. My guess is that, in a world without deadlines, they probably would have preferred someone else; however, they were willing to use me, and I was up for a new experience.

I have been on the TV a number of times, but this is the first time I will actually be mentioned. My other appearances were usually incidental and only a few seconds. Also, this is the first time it won’t be on a local cable access channel.

Sakamoto Ryoma is very popular now because a TV series titled Ryomaden (龍馬伝) came on the air in January. I watched the first episode, but unfortunately have missed all the rest because of my busy schedule. Hopefully they will rebroadcast it.

If you happen to watch the program UP! on Nagoya TV this Thursday from 6:17pm, you should see me. If not, they’ll send me a DVD, so you can drop by and watch. I was pretty nervous, so I might look a little bumbling unless their editors are very kind and good.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Thirteen Minutes to Go”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    How fun! I’m sure you did fine and you will impress everyone who watches 🙂

Leave a Reply

