Speak of the Deviled Eggs

by

Iodized EggsNo sooner did I blog about salt in Japan not being Iodized, when what should come across my path, but Iodized eggs. Snapped a photo at the grocery store with the cell phone to aid my memory.

Don’t ask me why or how someone would Iodize an egg, but here they are nonetheless.

OK, that last sentence was written by the tired and lazy version of me. Curious me is a far stronger incarnation, so I did a little research and am editing the entry.

Apparently: “Worldwide, iodine deficiency affects about two billion people and is the leading preventable cause of mental retardation.” Goiter and cretinism are also listed as ailments caused by this deficiency.

Fortunately a traditional Japanese diet includes seafood and seaweed, which both contain satisfactory levels of Iodine.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

