Reflection Pond

by

Many Japanese homes have tiny gardens, or sometimes no garden at all. One way to overcome this is to scale things down. Who wouldn’t love to have a large pond with koi and turtles swimming around? Reflection PondA number of houses I’ve visited have some variation of what you see photographed here.

Placing a large pot, urn, or basin near the entry, it is possible to give most of the feeling of a full-size fish pond without all the engineering, maintenance, and space requirements. Various types of small lilies or lotus are suitable flora; and, while koi would soon outgrow this vessel, a few small goldfish are ideal fauna to really sell the grander image.

An open walkway runs across the front of our apartments. Being at the end leaves me with a meter or more of unused space… I am strongly considering making an attempt to beautify my entry.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Reflection Pond”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    What a great idea! I love small water gardens, so simple and pretty. I’d have one but the water would freeze solid in winter here. Indoors there wouldn’t be enough light and my cats would find it all too interesting. You will have to be sure to post a photo of your entry beautification 🙂

  2. verbivore Says:

    These are so lovely. I’ve wanted to put a pond in the yard here but the climate makes it tough. My husband and I did set one up for our nephews at my in-laws house but we had to make it pretty deep so the fish had a place to hang out in the winter (and not freeze).

Leave a Reply

