Out of Balance

by

Some days I can feel how out of balance things are in my life. Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday mornings found me running to the train station and barely arriving in time to leap into the train wheezing from the sprint. Let me also mention here that Monday was a holiday, so I’m batting zero.

Half of my ride this morning was standing up with a high-schooler repeatedly bumping me, the second half – after out manoeuvering said student – I was seated. Shortly after settling into my perch, I noticed I didn’t have my leg strap to keep my pants from joining my bike chain and front gears. Not wanting to roll up my pants for the cold ride into the country, I was a bit glum but that problem quickly became moot. Just before exiting the carriage, I noticed I left the bike lock keys at my apartment.

Everything cascades from there. My school allowed me to take the bus and arrive 15 minutes late (but three hours before my first class). I would have been disappointed if they didn’t say OK given that there is only one bus an hour and their other teacher always comes by bus and I always arrive early and leave late. Now I am in the countryside, and I will meet some ladies to chat about events, fortunately I can walk to meet them, but I normally spin my wheels to meet up with some youths a half hour away. I will have to beg a ride from someone, or take a taxi, or cancel out. Naturally I never want to cancel out on kids.

On the bright side I did get a lot done before fled the house in a panic this morning. Normally I am living alone, but this weekend there will be four of us squeezed in, so I’ve been trying to get things in order for that. Getting the new gas fan heater working in my study was a major coup yesterday.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Out of Balance”

  1. Keven Says:

    Sounds like me sometimes, though lately I’ve been doing OK. I still occasionally go out for a multi-hour bike ride w/ no water bottles… At least I haven’t forgotten my bike shoes in a while. 🙂

  2. びっくり Says:

    Fortunately, in Japan there are vending machines everywhere. On a school field trip, I found that our prefecture produces the most vending machines in the country, which might explain why we have so many here. Anyhow, if I ride off without water bottles – even to the remotest reaches of the mountains – I can find a machine selling tea, gatorade, water, etc.

  3. titus2woman Says:

    singing ~..nobody told me there’d be days like these…~

Leave a Reply

