Price of Progress

by

On my walk to the station there are alot of old houses wedged together. Often they are so tight that one stairs out a window into a sheet metal wall. Recently one of these places was torn down, an outbuilding was turned into an office, and the rest became a parking lot. It looks very sharp and presuming a business eventually makes use of it, perhaps it is a sign of progress.

For me it means I can cut 10 meters or so off my commute by going through the parking lot. When I’m running late this is a benefit; however, this morning I experienced a down side to this improvement.

Normally I love to greet people when I am out and about. So much so, that it is almost reflexive. Walking through the new asphalt today: I glanced left, saw a head, and stopped short of greeting the man just in time. He was inside an open window, but that might not stop me from greeting someone. In this case, the clincher was that he was sitting on his toilet. Anyone walking through will see his morning affairs.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Price of Progress”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    HA HA HA! What a shock! Can you imagine being the squatter? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

