Picture of Health?

by

Results have come back from our mandatory annual physicals. My bad cholesterol dropped a little and good went up a bit, I lost 6 or 7 cm off my waistline and dropped several kilos from my weight. Blood pressure is better than last year’s great reading, blood sugar is normal, as are the rest of my numbers, which earned me an 80 point score with normal being somewhere in the 70s; however, it is strongly recommended that I consult with a physician and adjust my lifestyle. Why, you ask?

Most of the foreigners in Japan encounter the same comment on their forms because of a heavy dependence on BMI and a prevailing opinion that people should be very thin. At 179 cm tall and 73 kg (74 plus in August at the health check), I’m not really feeling obese. That’s about 5’10” and 160 pounds for you Americans. Naturally I would like to shed a couple kilos of fat and pick up a few in muscle mass, but my BMI wouldn’t change if I did.

Anyhow, once I get through this rehab on my neck, I hope to be on my bike for some longer rides, so I’m feeling pretty good. Meanwhile, I may start running (for something other than catching the train) as a way to get some exercise without bending my neck.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Picture of Health?”

  1. verbivore Says:

    I remember being very frustrated with thinness expectations while living in Japan. I’m actually quite thin (110 lbs for 5’5″) but compared to many Japanese women didn’t appear so. Buying large sized clothing was a new experience, and in the beginning, not easy to swallow. I eventually got used to it 🙂 and now I miss feeling tall. I do remember how comments on weight don’t seem to have the same taboo in Japan compared with the US. If I gained a little or lost a little, most of my friends and colleagues would comment on the fact. That was hard to get used to.

    Glad you are feeling well and healthy! Good way to start the winter.

  2. Stefanie Says:

    I am glad you are in good health. How interesting that being very thin is so important there. When people from Japan visit the US they must be appalled at how large people are here including the ones we consider thin!

  3. びっくり Says:

    Verbivore – people often comment on how I must have gained or lost weight. The funny thing is that the comments come at the same time. I think most people are so fixated on weight that they have to mention something related to it. The unfortunate result is many thin (but not healthy) women.

    Stef – not only that. When they stay in American’s homes they are often shocked at the volume of food in a traditional Sunday breakfast. I had a few friends whose hosts wanted to take them to the hospital because they were “not eating enough”.

Leave a Reply

