Disappearing Post

by

Last night I violated one of my rules about posting and today at lunchtime I noticed why I have that rule. Never post while drunk is a good rule. A friend gave me a bottle of sake shaped like a steam locomotive. I drank most of it last night while catching up on internet news and such.

About midnight I made a very clever post; however, under the noontime light, it didn’t seem clever at all. I changed it to a private post, so hopefully nobody can see it now. Sake is quite an interesting beverage, it really seems to sneak up on the drinker more than other choices. Things that aren’t very good ideas start seeming brilliant.

Anyhow, the weather is beautiful today, and I have been invited to eat leftovers from today’s tea ceremony. That promises to be a healthy and tasty meal.

In the evening, I am teaching the Young Laborers class. I think they are going to get a lesson about Dr. Suess and about the importance of rhyming in English. Lately, this has been my kick.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Disappearing Post”

  1. Keven Says:

    Aw. You don’t always have to be clever! I’m really curious now! I guess I should check in on you more often!

    Perhaps this is a secret scheme to get more readers! 🙂

  2. fightingwindmills Says:

    About how old are the children that you are teaching with Dr. Seuss? I always wondered about the usefulness of his books in ESL, but I never tried it.

  3. びっくり Says:

    Kev – It wasn’t just ‘not clever’ my point got lost in a confused morass and a couple points could have come across as offensive. I didn’t delete it because I might edit it for public consumption.

    FW – Good to hear from you. I hope all is well with your growing family. I have tested it out on kids between 2nd grade and 60 years old. Hop on Pop is simple enough to be generally useful at low levels. One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, is much more involved but it also uses more poetic meter which gives young readers another way to self check. When they come up a syllable or two short it really stands out. I’ll see how it goes, but I am having troubles convincing public school teachers to move. For private classes, I am the boss; which is good.

  4. Keven Says:

    Just razzin’ ya Erik!

    I like the idea of using Dr. Seuss to learn. Other than the sometimes crazy stuff he writes, it gets back to how we, as native speakers, learned some of the hash we call English.

    I think this is a real challenge to learning a language. We all are taught one way as native speakers, and then, when we’re older, we’re expected to try to learn in a completely different manner. I think the way we speak to children and how they learn is not coincidental. It has evolved over a long period and is pretty efficient.

  5. titus2woman Says:

    OH DARN! I MISSED IT! LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

