I Can See Clearly Now

by

Yes, the rain is gone, but that’s not where I was going with this. When I got rolled over the hood of a car and slammed into the pavement, it did a number on my glasses. Or, really, what’s left of my glasses. Thin metal frames really show their maleability under that kind of duress. We are debating whether it is possible to straighten them enough to act as a back up pair, but last week I ordered up new glasses and today I picked them up.

Heavier plastic frames are a new look for me, but I have a good feeling about these. Particularly, I think the shape will reduce troubles caused by my peripheral vision. My first pair of glasses kept freaking me out because I was “seeing things” coming up beside me. It took a couple years to adjust to that without going paranoid.

Study and reading are favorite activities of mine, so the last five weeks have been tough. My vision is good enough that I can still read without the glasses; however astigmatism causes a lot of eye strain, making it hard to concentrate for long periods. (I think getting your head smacked against concrete might effect concentration as well.)

Next, I need to send the information off to the insurance company for their approval. I hope they don’t try any funny stuff like suggesting my old glasses should be depreciated for compensation. The fact that my vision has made no appreciable change in the last six years should help mitigate any nonsense like that. (“I didn’t need new glasses until your client ran me down.”)

Here’s to all the new things to see!

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “I Can See Clearly Now”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    Oh no! I’ve not been keeping up, and this is terrible! I hope you are ok and the glasses were the most serious injury. Getting hit by a car while biking is one of my greatest fears.

  2. びっくり Says:

    The glasses were simple. There were a few other injuries. Lots of abrasions and contusions, mostly healed. Sprained wrist, hand, and fingers, fairly healed. Ear torn (this was the scariest), fairly healed. Neck/back hurting, rehab started today with electric stimulation and traction.

    Advice if you’re nervous about riding: stay alert, wear a helmet and be prepared to give up the right of way.

  3. Stefanie Says:

    Oh ouch! I hope you continue to healing and are right as rain soon.

    Oh yes, I always wear a helmet and never insist on right of way. I ride on quiet streets and off-street bike paths as often as possible.

  4. びっくり Says:

    Glad to hear you are taking care. Just one more cautionary comment: I was on a quiet street. We have a lot of narrow streets here. My counterpart popped out of a three and a half meter wide side street without stopping. Surprise.

    Thanks for the well-wishing.

  5. Sunday Soundcheck 66 « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] either near or far sighted. They have a word for astigmatism (which was handy when I was getting my new glasses) but few non-professionals seem to know what it means. Although, maybe most people in America […]

Leave a Reply

