Mister Potter

by

My father-in-law has two primary hobbies and a strong personality; which adds up to me having two new hobbies (being a weak-willed individual, and all). Playing shakuhachi (尺八), a traditional bamboo flute, is already being drilled into me; however, the other hobby, pottery, has been put off many times until today.

We have enjoyed many conversations about pottery, particularly history and appreciation, and we spent a day together feeding the kiln in May. Actually putting clay in my hands and making something requires a block of time when we are both free, which was the largest hurdle. On a few occasions we had enough time, but I was exhausted from other activities, or he wanted me to record English lessons, or such.

Today I – and by “I” I mean “we” – made two good works and one cracked work. First we made a left-handed cup for drinking shochu (焼酎) and then a rice bowl (茶碗) which can also be used for drinking thick tea. I wish I had my camera handy to photo the raw works; however, they will be drying for at least five days before we even think about firing them, so maybe I can swing by and shoot a photo.

We won’t be firing these in the wood-fired kiln, but rather they will be dipped in glaze and fired in a gas or electric kiln. Hopefully they don’t explode so I can show you some “Japanese” works.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Mister Potter”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    OH WOW~so much GOOD STUFF that I am overwhelmed! SO GLAD your family loves your sweetie and y’all had such a pleasant trip! and you’ll be needing a plastic surgeon after your accident? (((((Bikkuri))))) LOVE to read about the delightful relationship you have with your soon-to-be FIL~WOW! I could go on and on…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. びっくり Says:

    I was visiting the plastic surgeon everyday after the accident. She would clean the ear wound, check it over thoroughly, apply medicine, bandage it, and scold me for worrying about my trip. The last time she looked at it she said it would be fine: probably just a little scarring on the underside where nobody can see. I’m still a little concerned because it is two different colors on the front, so I might go visit her again.

Leave a Reply

