Swelling Library

by

While I am supposed to be getting the apartment in order for my girlfriend who likes things tidy, books have been accumulating in the Bikkuri library.

Charles Dickens and G. K. Chesterton found their way in because one friend needed to lighten his international shipping costs for his move home. I’ve never read “Great Expectations”, so I look forward to that, and having never read any Chesterton, perhaps “Father Brown Stories” will be a new experience.

Stopping by the teachers’ supply on my Seattle trip saw me Suessing up. New additions include: “The Cat in the Hat”, “Hop on Pop”, “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish”, and “I Can Read With My Eyes Shut”. Also, Eric Carle’s works are very popular here, so I couldn’t resist “Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See?”: a new – and more advanced – take on the “Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?” classic.

One last book of mine was still in Seattle and “Escher: His Life and Complete Works” finally came home with me. A childhood favorite, “Little Toot” also appeared in my luggage.

Yesterday a friend loaned me two Japanese books: one with fine details of visits to the main shrine in Ise and another with details of sightseeing walks around Mie prefecture.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

