My Tattoos

by

While I’ve got no qualms about other people getting (good) tattoos, I generally have no interest in tattooing my own body. However, thanks to being rolled over the hood of a car and bounced off the pavement, I’m sporting some wonderful shades of blue, yellow, purple, red, and black. Most of the bruises were quite deep and didn’t appear for several days.

Shoulder Bruise and AbrasionMy hip joint was probably the first point to make contact with the car and, as such, is the most tender right now. Despite requests, I won’t put photos of my tush on the internet, so everyone will have to be satisfied with this shot of my left shoulder. There is a matching bruise on my left forearm. I’ve been trying to piece together what hit where, but it’s amazing how confusing things get after the first few hits.

Torn Ear, Temple Abrasion, Black EyeI put up a shot of my face too. The black eye has almost no yellow left and should be looking good by the time I arrive in America. The temple abrasion has a nice layer of skin and doesn’t need a bandage. This has improved my ability to go out in public without frightening children. I asked the nurse today if it was kirei(綺麗), which can mean beautiful or clean, and in this case would generally be healthy. She said yes and I said that it wasn’t (pretty) before the injury. She made a comment about me being ‘full’ of jokes. I told her I had to make a lot of jokes, otherwise I would probably cry. They get to see me everyday, and I did get them to laugh when I said, “Itte kimasu!”, as I left yesterday. This is the greeting you give when leaving home or some place you are regularly expected: it means, “I’m going out and coming back!” and feels like, “I’ll be home soon!” And the best news of all is that the color of the ear wound is getting healthy. Until this morning we couldn’t get the doctor’s approval to fly on Monday, but barring a relapse we should be America bound soon.

Update: My sweetie came by this evening before I could submit this post. She shoved my head in the sink, washed my hair, and inspected the wound while changing the bandage. She thinks it has improved dramatically over the last 12 hours!

The plan is to rest all weekend and eat healthy until Monday. Then in the morning we’ll go to the hospital for a final cleaning and clearance from the doctor before heading straight to the boat to the airport. Our plans in America will probably be a little abbreviated, but our main goals should be met.

Just before the accident I had been studying Phillipians 4 and trying to commit part to memory. I think that this month has been a test of my belief and I hope I come through it faring well. It hasn’t been easy, but don’t they say nothing good ever is?

Rejoice in the Lord always, again I will say rejoice. Let your gentleness be known to all men, for the Lord is at hand. Be anxious for nothing, but in all things, through prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your minds and your hearts through Christ Jesus.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “My Tattoos”

  1. MarcustheWu Says:

    I wish I could help you more or say more besides *hugs*. Have fun in America though.

  2. びっくり Says:

    Hugs are OK, but don’t touch the ear, or the shoulder, or my fingers, or my ribs, or my hip, or my knees, or my head, …

    We’ll have fun! Thanks.

  3. titus2woman Says:

    I am SO SORRY to learn of your accident! I used to bike fifteen miles each way to work, but I’m not a very aggressive driver. Once I was too close to parked cars to make room for traffic, and my handlbar hit a car mirror and sent me flat on my back in the street. I opened my eyes to look straight up into the bumper of a car~PRAISE GOD for the pizza delivery boy’s quick reflexes, and POOR THING! It totally scared him half to death! I was offered wine in someone’s back yard afterward, but I chose to ride home so I wouldn’t be too afraid to get back on!

    Anyway, no injuries to speak of for my incident~I am praying for quick healing for you as well as NO FEAR of riding again!!!!! (((((HUGS))))) sandi~sorry this was so long~like you really wanted all of that story! LOL!

  4. びっくり Says:

    I’m glad your incident was injury free. It is difficult to balance the need for assertive behavior and the desire not to be rude.

Leave a Reply

