Swarm

by

Recently my days are so swarmed with activity that I can’t recall everything without looking back at my calendar, but let’s take a look at a few recent activities, not in order.

  • Called my mom – Having no phone, nor internet has left me incommunicado. Of course, people can call my cell phone from America, but I can’t call them back. Many people are nervous about time differences, strange messages not in English, etc. I picked up a calling card which still runs about 50 cents a minute and grabbed 15 minutes in front of the station in the phone booth (which is like Alec Guiness’s hot box in Bridge over the River Kwai.)
  • Ordered internet service – One trip to the hot box was enough incentive. Actually, one problem here was a need to go during business hours, but I found a little time. They are waiving about 500 dollars in hook-up fees through the end of July, so I was happy to get in under the wire. Yes, I said waiving $500 in connection fees; it costs over $700 to connect to cable in Japan. It also costs a couple hundred to disconnect. Starting August 3rd, I can make more regular updates.
  • Bought another round of bookshelves and storage bins – The front room is almost in order. I do have a lot of goods needing a home, but might opt for the wasteful path of throwing things out.
  • Built bookshelves and tidied up – phase three will start soon; tidier is better.
  • Helped a friend finalize their souvenir shopping before returning to America.
  • Entertained the (future) parents-in-law – this was sudden and unexpected, but a lot of fun. Sure am glad for the tidying up that had just taken place.
  • Visited my friend’s new baby – Just three and a half days old and cute as a button. Mom is looking amazingly well-rested and happy. Baby is strong and has positive features from both folks.
  • Visited my girlfriend’s 95 year old grandmother – probably the kindest reception I have gotten anywhere. She has many features in common with my girlfriend and her father: physical and otherwise. I note an extremely strong spirit and great kindness as family features, but they always laugh at me when I say this. I think most people have trouble seeing kindness in their own father.

Of course, all of this activity occurred just on the weekend. I got a number of laundry loads in as well and line-dried them, hauled out recycling from all the purchases, ate five meals out, and squeezed in some internet cafe time and half a TV show episode. Some of the time was created when calligraphy class got moved to Friday afternoon.

Monday, I’m off to Shigaraki to learn about pottery and make a purchase, then to the in-laws’ to practice Shakuhachi, record English conversations, and do a little pottery. Home at night and up the next morning for a trip to Immigrations…

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Swarm”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    AW~were you unable to see that REALLY FUN vid? I remember those days, and I was always so FRUSTRATED! (What a hook-up fee, btw! WHOA!) We are planning our fifth home birth, and I am JEALOUS o fa six hour labor! WOW! My first was my shortest at sixteen hours, and all the others have been more than twenty-four.

    Meeting with your fiance’s family and especially her Grandmother makes me smile! TREASURE!!!! My family did not teach me to honor the wisdom of my elders growing up, and now that I do they are gone. How I wish I remembered all my Papaw’s stories!!!! OH had I not been so shallow and known more to ask my MIL before she passed! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. びっくり Says:

    I explained clearly to my future PILs that they must live for many, many more years. I hope they listen well. My father often seems to think he won’t live long, but that’s been going on for a few decades now. He’s tough enough that I expect him to outlive me.

    Of course, the six hour labor involved a little cheating. In Japan, I think the docs are quick to do a little cutting in order to get the kid out. I will have to do some reading about what that does to the mother before we get to that point. I don’t want anyone cutting up my sweetie, if it can be avoided with a little more perseverence on her part and patience on the doc’s part.

    All the best on your delivery.

  3. Dorothy W. Says:

    $500 in connection fees! Wow. It will be very nice to be all settled again, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

