Banner Day

by

Wednesday I changed the “Dragonfly on Lotus Leaf” banner image from July of last year to a close-up of “Incense at Chion-in”. I’m curious how people like it. If you have any comments please let me know.

Also, I’ve been thinking about using the Poll Daddy tool, so I put a poll in the sidebar… give it a click so I can see how it works.

Taking banner image photos takes a bizarre compositional mindset. The coloring should be such that an easily readable font can be displayed on it. Large variations in color across the middle would render this impossible. Wallpaper images are similar, but variation becomes more of a concern since icons could appear anywhere. Bright images can be overbearing. Subject matter should be interesting, but not distracting. An aspect ratio of 19:5 is specified for the images, so one has to shift from the 5:4 or 3:2 ratios which are normal in America or the ISO sizes normal to the rest of the world. I enjoy this challenge.

I’ve taken a number of images which I think are very Japanesey to match my blog. I want to try a few out, but I don’t want to create a rapidly shifting feeling.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Banner Day”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    I like it.

  2. びっくり Says:

    I still only have two votes on the poll. I really have mixed feelings about polls. I’ll give it a week and see what happens.

    I think I’ll leave this banner up for awhile, but might tweak the cropping and the font color a bit.

Leave a Reply

