Paralytic Fear

by

Fear is a recurring topic in my life today. Not that I am afraid. I really take to heart the words in II Timothy 1:7 – “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” Instead fear has come up in my surroundings.

At school we were having a rehearsal for the graduation ceremony on the 19th. All of the students were required to be in the gym during second period. It seems that this rehearsal was a schedule change as well, which creates a certain amount of confusion in adults, let alone the children.

While rushing to the event, I passed a crying 4th grader. Children in Japan cry much easier than American children, but these tears were coming from the bottom of her heart. A teacher was asking what was wrong and hustling her along. When I heard what had happened I slowed down and held her hand as we walked to the gym. I tried reassuring her as well.

She had gone to the bathroom and returned to find the entire school empty. Upon hearing this and seeing her face, I could empathize with the fear a child would have when suddenly the bustling hub of friends was vacant. Normally, I would be shocked that, in this land of headcounting, she could have been left; however, her teacher was responsible for running the rehearsal and must have been under duress.

We had the tears gone by the time she was with her class and she put her heart into the songs for the sixth graders.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Paralytic Fear”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    Oh, how scary that must have been for her! And how kind you were to help her get through her tears.

  2. びっくり Says:

    I think the number of tears I shed as a youth have given me a special passion for helping kids through theirs.

Leave a Reply

