Don’t Broadcast It

by

Recently I had the idea to “dredge” my blog looking for things I’ve promised and haven’t followed through. For example, when I returned from America in January I didn’t show photos of the surprise I made for my girlfriend. I had to wait until she saw it, just in case she read my blog and ruined the surprise. The problem is that I’ve been so incredibly busy or exhausted and haven’t gotten around to it.

You know that I generally keep enough irons in the fire to stretch myself a bit, but lately it has been more pronounced. Perhaps some explanation is necessary.

So, some of my regular readers may have figured it out by now, but in case you haven’t: I’m engaged. When I asked my girlfriend to marry me, she said yes, but she also said, “言い触らさないで”; which basically means, “Don’t broadcast it.” When I asked her to explain a little more, I understood her thought process a little more. It’s not that she is ashamed of me and doesn’t want people to know, rather it is that she wants the information to spread bit by bit: perhaps like layers of an onion. First family, then close friends, then relations, then friends, then aquaintances, … I, on the other hand, am more like that character in ‘Dances with Wolves’ that wants to stand on a cliff with everyone present below and yell out, “I love this woman and I want to bond my life to hers. I want to spend my remaining life near her, whether that’s one day or 77 years.” I restrained myself a bit, and she’s been very understanding of my bean spilling. Anyhow, I think we’re at the point now where it’s safe to put it in a place that 70 or 80 people a day are looking.

Extra irons related to this change are:

  • House hunting – most likely, I will move south down the bay to Ise very soon. Since she lives at work, I have to move if we are going to be closer together.
  • Commuter passes – I’ve been researching different forms of discount passes for the trains, to flesh out my plan to live near the stations and commute to work in Tsu.
  • Airfare – we plan to follow a traditional path of visiting the family before getting married, so we will hopefully be in Seattle during the summer. Summer airfare is currently double the going rate, which will certainly take some planning (or maybe just some frequent flier miles) to get around.
  • Wedding plans – we are thinking Spring of next year for the wedding, so we aren’t struggling with this one so much right now.

Irons not in the fire yet, but consuming brain power are: citizenship, visas, children, taxes, insurance, next year’s contract, …

With the school year coming to an end in less than a month, we are having lots of special activities, but most of those aren’t creating extra work for me, just non-routine work. Two schools are preparing English speeches for their graduation ceremonies. I wish we could convince more schools and students that this is possible.

Tags: , ,

10 Responses to “Don’t Broadcast It”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    Congratulations!!!! That is marvelous news. Thanks for sharing your happiness.

  2. Don’t Broadcast It « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Don’t Broadcast It « Neo-新びっくりブログ […]

  3. びっくり Says:

    Thanks. I’ll be making dinner for her tomorrow and will ask permission to share more details about the proposal and such. I really am fortunate to have been led to her and don’t want to vex her.

  4. ナヴァー Says:

    おめでとうございます~

  5. びっくり Says:

    どもありがとうございます

  6. Stefanie Says:

    I was wondering what was going on as there have been hints and clues but you never said anything for sure and I didn’t want to pry. Wonderful news! Congratulations to you both!

  7. Dorothy W. Says:

    Well, congratulations! That’s wonderful, and thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. titus2woman Says:

    OH *CONGRATULATIONS!* How AWESOME! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  9. びっくり Says:

    Thank you ladies for the well-wishing. We had a very romantic time this weekend. She loves cooking, it is a way that she organizes her mind and relieves stress, so she often cooks for me when she drives up here; however, this time I made a couple meals for her. Relaxing at the kotatsu and reading a book seemed to be a good stress relief as well.

    Because she is essentially a professional cook, I was a little nervous, but she liked everything. She commented in detail, so I don’t think she was just being nice. We had a lot of good “future planning” chat as well.

  10. verbivore Says:

    Congratulations!!! I wish you both the best.

Leave a Reply

