Long-Awaited Earthquake

by

Recently I was noting how long it has been since we felt a quake here. At 6:56 this morning my wait has ended. Hokuriku (北陸) is a ways from here, but the earthquake, centered there, gave my house a sturdy jolt. It was a relatively short quake. I woke up early to see if there was any snow or ice that would trouble my commute, otherwise I would have been sleeping when it hit.

I’m fine. I’ll give  you more updates if we get aftershocks. I hope you are all well wherever you are.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Long-Awaited Earthquake”

  1. Mark Williams Says:

    Eric,

    I saw this alert on my cell phone this morning. I have that region registered so I get alerts in case something hits near Matsusaka where my in-laws are and Nagoya where my sister in law’s family lives.

    We get those about that size all the time here in the Tokyo-Ibaraki-Chiba area. They say you get used to them but, so far they still freak me out.

    Mark Williams
    Inzai City, Chiba

  2. びっくり Says:

    I’m pretty mellow about quakes. I clicked through to your blog, and then Facebook, where I sent a friend request. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  3. Stefanie Says:

    I used to be mellow about earthquakes too. Growing up in southern California you get used to them. But then I was in a big earthquake in Los Angles and people died and buildings were destroyed and I’m not so mellow about earhtquakes anymore. I am glad to now live somewhere where quakes are practically nonexistent. Just have to worry about tornadoes now, but at least there are warnings for those!

  4. びっくり Says:

    Yeah, my first thought is always, “Ride it out.”; but, there is always property damage, and sometimes loss of life. I really need to recover my original blog files. One of the most heartwarming stories was when a big quake hit Niigata. A car got rolled off the road and buried under rubble. Crews were working all day trying to get the mother and children out. It is amazing to see people drop everything to help each other. OK, you’ve convinced me to recover the files and upload them here. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

