Consistency

by

My results from the level 2 Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT・日本語能力試験2級) came in the mail today. As expected, I failed again this time. I think my score actually decreased from the previous year, even though everyone insists that my actual proficiency is worlds ahead of my level a year earlier.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Consistency”

  1. Dena Says:

    Sorry to hear about your score – this test must be really hard!

  2. びっくり Says:

    Indeed it is a tough test. (Although, my lack of study didn’t help any.) They use a lot of grammar that is not generally used. My study generally focuses on being able to communicate better, so it isn’t always helping me on the test. Also, they throw a lot of difficult nuance tricks into the mix.

    They will offer the test twice this year, so I am pondering if I should study up and take it mid-year…

  3. Stefanie Says:

    Sorry about the test results. I was sure you’d pass. Third time is the charm?

  4. びっくり Says:

    Third time is a charm… if I take it seriously and study. I have been lazy about a lot of stuff lately. (Said as I am pondering skipping calligraphy class today.) I love study, but sometimes I just want to play.

    One of my weaknesses is connecting phrases like: ni kan shite, ni tai shite, tsui ni, … Last month I started studying those with my Japanese teacher. This should help my language and bump my grammar score on the test. Imagine speaking English without words like: moreover, herein, as opposed to, regarding, with respect to, whatsoever, in the end, …

    My goal is to have similar eloquence in Japanese and English. Clearly, this is a long term goal.

Leave a Reply

