I Hate Putting On Clothes

by

During the Winter, I hate putting on clothes. Yes, I wrote that to shock people. That is not to say that I like walking around nude after the equinox. After all, that would be very chilly. I guess that is just the point, it’s not the wearing of clothes, it’s putting them on.

Often I find myself lounging around in fleece pants and a long sleeve shirt, possibly with my knees tucked under the kotatsu (炬燵). Feeling very comfy, I don’t look forward to going out, because I have to take off my clothes to put on street clothes. Feeling the frigid fabric against my skin is a shock to my system.

One of the drawbacks of the traditional Japanese home is a lack of insulation and I find myself rarely willing to run the heat if it’s just going out the walls. Perhaps I will try warming my clothes under the kotatsu before changing.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “I Hate Putting On Clothes”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    I get lazy like that too. Winters in a Japanese apartment are so cold! The tile in the bathroom is the worst.

  2. びっくり Says:

    I want to have a house built which looks traditional, but uses some modern methods. Heated floors are very efficient and feel good. Insulation says, “I love my planet”. I have gotten better about wearing slippers in the non-tatami rooms and that helps a lot. One way around the cold tiles in the bath area is to put down a wooden sunoko, but then you have to keep the room ventilated and draining to avoid rot.

  3. verbivore Says:

    My apartment on Kyushu was very cold in the winter – I was relatively high up in the mountains and longed for central heating. I used to pick out my school clothes and sleep with them at the bottom of my futon so they’d be less cold in the morning. Ugh – I would not have survived without my beloved Kotatsu table.

  4. Dena Says:

    I would never make it…I have become fully Californized and anything under 60F feels like ice to me! What a whimp I have become!

  5. Stefanie Says:

    I totally know what you mean. I feel so comfy and cozy in my fleece and flannel at home and then getting dressed to go out the door is so much work. Not only putting on the shirt and pants but then there is the scarf and the snow boots and the parka and hat and mittens with glove liners. It gets exhausting.

Leave a Reply

