Bringing it All Together

by

Last night I learned a new word while explaining today’s ski trip to some friends. Some of the local conversation schools organized a ski trip to a cabin with lodging for 25 guests. We’ll head off in the afternoon, and gather for a potlatch dinner. Sunday, we’ll enjoy God’s natural cathedral as we schuss down the slopes.

After I explained what a potlatch was, my friend said, “Oh, ariawase no ryouri!” Even though looking up the alternate spelling ‘potluck’ yields ariawase no ryouri, there is no good definition in the dictionary for the term ariawase. If I understand it correctly, I would translate it as ‘bringing together what we have’. For some reason that just gives me a warm fuzzy feeling all over.

Well, I better rush off to the store, so that I’ll have something to bring.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

