Fever Free Flu

by

My girlfriend lives with and cares for five children between 5 and 20 years of age. In a three-day period they all caught the flu. On the third day, she also was headachy and her joints hurt, so she asked the doctor to check her out as well. After checking her temperature and finding it within one degree C of normal, he said she shouldn’t worry. My girlfriend makes it a point to understand her body well, so she pressed the doctor more, suggesting he might run his tests anyhow… sure enough, she had the flu. Never heard of a fever-free flu before!

She “rested” a lot, but since the children were all getting healthy and she was off her feet, the house was not so quiet. Apparently there was a lot of joint pain. She was afraid that she might have given me her illness, but I am feeling pretty good and it’s been well over a week. Although, I told her I have joint pain everyday, so it’s hard to tell.

American readers might be surprised that I included up to 20 years of age in the “child” classification. Japanese thinking is that the age of adulthood is 20. Cigarettes, alcohol, driving, … most decision making abilities are handed down at that time.

On the fun side: I’m going skiing this weekend; and heading to Kyoto for shopping and Iga for skating and hot spring soaking next weekend. I hope you are all finding fun ways to spend your time, as well.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Fever Free Flu”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    I hope you manage to escape the flu. It seems everyone where I work keeps getting sick. So far I have managed to avoid the bugs, but I won’t feel safe until a month has passed with everyone well.

  2. びっくり Says:

    Stefanie – a month may be the proper window.

    Today, driving age came up in conversation. People can actually get licenses when they are 18: two years before adulthood, just like America. However, most people don’t get their license until after college.

Leave a Reply

