Better to Pluck Out Your Own Eye

by

Almost a year ago I had an odd experience. One particularly precocious first grader is very hard to keep focused and quiet. When she isn’t talking she seems to like fiddling with things. One of her favorite items to play with looks like a small rubber baseball bat. One day it was distracting her so much that I almost took it away.

A few weeks later, she was in the office – where she comes often – playing around with the same toy. Suddenly she started poking herself in the eye with the handle end of the bat. I tried to stop her and explain how dangerous it is to poke at your eye, when it all became clear.

She gave one firm poke to the center of the eye and pulled it out. Apparently she has only one eye, the other being a prosthetic, and the device is a suction cup (the bat-handle-looking-end) with a long handle (the bat-looking-part) for plucking it out for cleaning.

My Royal Family Kids Camp training helps me to be unshockable; however, I was pretty surprised. Also, I was glad I hadn’t tried to take the tool away from her during class.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Better to Pluck Out Your Own Eye”

  1. Ampanman Says:

    That’s one of the freakiest “I-saw-it-at-school” stories I’ve ever heard! Did she ever put the eye in her hair like Ge-ge-ge no Kitarou???

  2. verbivore Says:

    I can’t imagine how strange it must have been to see her take her eye out like that. Was she laughing when she realized she had shocked you?

  3. びっくり Says:

    Anpanman – she’s outgoing enough that I’m sure she’d do it if I asked.

    Verbivore – I don’t know if she realized that I was shocked, but some teachers chuckled a bit. I found out that another one of my students doesn’t have an ear. She keeps her hairstyle bushy to hide the missing ear. Her older sister said she’s very self-conscious about it. Today I was noticing that her right ear was sticking out of the bushy hairdo, but the left one wasn’t. If her sister hadn’t said anything, I probably wouldn’t have noticed.

  4. Star Struck « A Natural Deficiency Of Moral Fiber Says:

    […] Better To Pluck Out Your Own Eye – Neo-新びっくりブログ […]

  5. Stefanie Says:

    Oh my, this is weird and funny and I am sure if I had seen it I would have had to work hard not to gasp and exclaim in surprise.

  6. Latasha Says:

    Lost your car keys, or perhaps inadvertently broke in the ignition. Therefore, you
    need ensure thqt the locksmith yyou are planning to hire is noot
    only licensed, but also bonded aand insured, if the locksmith is partt off an agency.
    In this case, make some research early on even before the
    actual unfortunate incident can happen.

Leave a Reply

