No, I’m Not Ashamed

by

I did something tonight which I can’t blog about. No, I’m not ashamed. Actually, I’m quite proud of it. If you want to know, you’ll have to ask me after the eighth. With any luck I will remember to write about it and post a photo.

It’s just after 3am and I have to be out the door at 9:30AM. After a short nap, I’ll get up and finish packing. The weight juggling is going so-so. My three extra bags are a few pounds under just in case the airline has funny scales, but one of my free bags is five pounds overweight. What to do? My baggage fees will run something between $450 and $550.

Shocking? Not really, I purged so many items from my storage locker to get down to that weight. Now that the locker is empty I can stop paying about $80/month for that. I wouldn’t have another chance to close the unit until at least fall which would be at least $700 in fees, so I’ll be happy at $450.

Having my knives and nice pots and pans will give me a little joy in the kitchen. Also, everytime my girlfriend works in my kitchen, I am embarrassed and apologetic. This will be a big relief. I was a little sad to dump several nice mixing bowls and some pyrex measuring cups at Goodwill, but along with some vases they accounted for a healthy chunk of weight. My crystal bowls are making the trip, however.

One insane purchase was about 1300 candy canes for my students. It seems that a lot of Japanese folks aren’t aware of their pepperminty goodness, so I view this as an educational tool. Also, some students were asking me to bring presents and couldn’t grasp the idea that if I spent a dollar on each student it would be as much as the airplane ticket. I picked up the sweets for a little over $10 total on a Christmas clearance sale.

Another aside: we had a freak snowstorm this evening; giving me quite a scare. Fortunately, it started raining hard around midnight, so the roads should be clear.

I’d love to write more, but am worried I’ll miss my wake up call. G’night!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “No, I’m Not Ashamed”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    Okay, so now that the 8th has passed, can you tell us the secret? I think I know (if you went to a jewelry shop while traveling, that is . . . )

  2. びっくり Says:

    Oh, that would be a good secret. I’ll post something this weekend.

    • びっくり Says:

      Oops! It has now been over a week and I didn’t post the photos. I’ll try to get on it soon. I made something for my girlfriend for Christmas and I couldn’t post a write-up before she opened her presents on January 8th. Please bear with me a little longer.

  3. Merry Christmas « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] By びっくり Back on January fifth, I wrote that I had something which I couldn’t blog about until after the eighth. Fighting Windmills jumped the gun a little and assumed proposal. It […]

Leave a Reply

