Officially Registered

by

My name and address over my mail slot suddenly went to pot a month ago. I was meaning to get it replaced right away, but I got busy and the mailman knows where I live. A week ago I started thinking I made a big mistake. The Japanese Language Proficiency Test (日本語能力試験・JLPT) has very strict rules, one of which is that your name and address must be posted in Roman letters and Japanese characters or your test registration will be returned to the test center as undeliverable. I expected the notice in the first week of November, so I thought I was out of luck and had shot another 6000 yen down the drain.

I was getting ready to write another post about how the JLPT isn’t so much a test of language ability as it is a test of willingness to follow peculiar procedures; however, today my card finally arrived. Last year the test site was within a short bike ride at Mie University (三重大学), but this year I am registered at a university down in Ise (伊勢市). I don’t know if they changed locations this year, or if they added a site and I got unlucky. In any case, it will mean I need to get up earlier this year.

Once again, I am behind on studies and there are less than three weeks remaining before test time. If I can keep myself away from Battlestar Galactica, SG-1, Atlantis, Veronica Mars, CSI, and this month, digitally remastered Star Trek, then there should still be time to get ready to pass the test. Unfortunately during my illness, a lot of Sci-Fi in English has been my convalescing entertainment choice.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Officially Registered”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    OH I LOVED Battlestar Galactica! And Star Trek! TMI, but after getting pregnant with Hazel I could no longer handle CSI… Too real I guess. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. びっくり Says:

    I don’t know if CSI is too real, but too dark and gruesome.

  3. ssmafozowitu Says:

    Santa Rosa

Leave a Reply

