Out of the Pan – Into the Fire

by

Today the first and sixth grade students got to burn stuff. Being the pyrophile I am, I’m all in favor of events that include a bit of fire. Two large campfires were lit during second period and loaded up with homegrown sweet potatoes. I believe the first-graders grew the crop in their patch.

Potatoes were wrapped in newspaper and then foil before cooking. During third period they pulled them out of the fire and sat down in groups to chow down together. Fortunately there were lots of extras, so I was able to join everyone. It was very tasty.

I really like how this school has the sixth grade spend time taking care of the first grade. At least one other school where I teach does this, so it maybe a standard in Japan. It really helps to build a community.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Out of the Pan – Into the Fire”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    I have really, really enjoyed catching up on all you’ve been up to! Lots of smiles and laughs and FUN and learning. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. fightingwindmills Says:

    Oh wow, home grown sweet potatoes sound delicious!

  3. Dena Says:

    Pyrophile? 🙂 I remember someone bringing a blowtorch, sandpaper and crayons to my parents house! I am glad that your “youthfulness” hasn’t left you!

  4. びっくり Says:

    I think the only way the “youthfulness” will leave me is when they put me in the ground.

Leave a Reply

