Out of Commission

by

My lingering cold has kept me from a lot of my activities, but not all of them. I was hoping the doctor would prescribe antibiotics (which is ironic, considering I used to refuse to take any med unless forced), but he gave me lozenges and a very small supply of pain killers. Fortunately, I awoke this morning with only a hint of soreness in my throat, so I may be OK. This is about the fourth time one of these persistent colds with sore throat symptoms has come on in Japan. One thought on why they linger is the constant need to talk over a group of 38 children… I really love working at the schools with calm, respectful students.

My knee has also been a problem and I skipped shuji on Saturday because of it. At first I noticed a lot of pain when squatting, so I thought it was a little tendon trouble from too much high-speed “Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes” singing; however, it seems a little more vexing. Having no trouble on the stairs yesterday, I thought I was out of the woods, but sitting on the floor in front of my computer I bent my knee and pulled my leg toward my chest. Ouch. That caused significant pain. My guess is now: ligament. Probably an injury received by getting really drunk and dancing around with a 300kg shrine on my shoulder. Let’s just hope it is something that will heal with rest.

Looks like I should take a break from calligraphy for awhile, but my work has been suffering and I want to get back at it. Just another one of the tests of life.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Out of Commission”

  1. Sunkissd1 Says:

    Wow. You’re just falling apart all over the place. I will send some chewing gum, duct tape and superglue to hold you together. Ü

  2. びっくり Says:

    Indeed a little duct tape maybe in order. I was thinking an Ace bandage would be nice for all the stair climbing at work.

  3. Dena Says:

    Sounds meniscal vs. ligamentous Erik…not exactly good news. Ah, drink some more of that “lubricating” brew and I think you will feel much, much, much better (well your knee will…not so sure about your head)!

  4. titus2woman Says:

    So sorry for your discomforts~NO FUN! Do you do only Japanese calligraphy? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. びっくり Says:

    Meniscal? Ligamentous? Is there an adjective for tendon-related or bone-related knee problems? I am thinking it might be tendons again. We’ll see. I have been resting it a lot. Of course, yesterday my idea of rest was doing penny-drops off the horizontal bars with fourth graders. I realized that the problem might have arisen from my bike ride to the repair shop. I tried to keep up a good 40+ km/h pace because it was rush hour and I don’t like getting hit by cars.

    Have fun on your trip.

Leave a Reply

