Off to America

by

Don’t come by the house looking for me, I’m off on a short trip to America. Originally I had been wanting to take a three week trip in August around my 25th high school reunion, but we have planned a 50th wedding anniversary party for my folks next weekend. I decided it would be bad form to miss that and I couldn’t bring myself to take two short trips in two months.

Because second term has started, my boss at the Board of Education requested I not take vacation. I told him you only get one golden anniversary and he relented, but insisted I should keep the trip short. Ironically, all my principals have been telling me I should have taken a longer trip because the kids have been busy getting ready for Sports Day anyhow.

Realization has sunk in that I won’t be able to meet with everyone I want to see, and I have a lot of personal business to take care of as well. I suppose sleep is optional.

Normally when I go home, I try to dine out a bit on victuals rare in Japan – Neapolitan Pizza, Mexican, Greek, Lebanese, BBQ Brisket – but, I don’t find myself craving anything particular. Actually, I may have to check out the ramen restaurants which have opened since I left Seattle.

I’ll post a few pre-dated entries here for your reading pleasure until I get back.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Off to America”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    Have a great trip, Bikkuri! I will pray that you travel safely and stay well. I hope your parents have a fun wedding anniversary.

  2. びっくり Says:

    On the ground in Seattle trying to take care of a lot of logistics. I wrote a lot of predated entries before I left Japan, so even if I’m too busy here the blog will continue.

  3. Dorothy W. Says:

    Have a wonderful time! I hope you get all those logistics worked out …

  4. sunkissd1 Says:

    Ironic isn’t it, how important ‘once in a lifetime’ family events are minimized, yet plenty of respect is issued for funerals….as if once people are gone, they become more important than when they were alive.

  5. びっくり Says:

    Well, technically a funeral is also a once in a lifetime event. 😉

  6. titus2woman Says:

    You went on your trip already? Has it really been that long since I’ve been by? Wow~time FLIES! Hope it was WONDERFUL!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about it! (((((HUGS))))) sandi~what is Neopolitan Pizza?

  7. びっくり Says:

    Neapolitan Pizza is pizza made in a facility which has been certified by an organization of pizza bakers from Naples. Kind of like how Pareve and other organizations go out to certify Kosher restaurants and such.

    On Monday I head back to Japan.

Leave a Reply

