If You Haven’t Done it Yet…

by

…then you are too late. Once again, the registration period for the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT・日本語能力試験) has come and gone. Once again, I got distracted and waited until the last minute to get registered. Officially I got my registration postmarked today for the Level 2 (二級) test. This year I noticed they made it easier to forget to register; the registration packets went on sale in July, but the registration period didn’t begin until August. This test organization creates a lot of ways for people to screw up; I decided they aren’t testing our language ability as much as our willingness and ability to jump through hoops.

That said; my language abilities certainly weren’t up to snuff last year, so I better get cracking on the studies now. Last time I took a beating on the reading comprehension section, which is half of the test. This time, I will focus more effort there.

I promised to write up advice on how to pass the test and details about the extra test session next year. I’ll try to get around to both of those soon. Meanwhile, I hope everyone who wanted to get registered this year was more on the ball than me.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “If You Haven’t Done it Yet…”

  1. verbivore Says:

    Ugh, you remind me that I didn’t sign up. I didn’t even look to see when it was offered here in Switzerland this year. I promise for next year. And I’ll have to take Level 3…

  2. びっくり Says:

    Are you in Switzerland? Try contacting the Volkshochschule Bern at +41(31)320-30-30. The website says the international registration varies by institution. There could still be time… but, if not, good luck for next year. You can do like I did and set an appointment in your cell phone or PDA calendar for next year.

Leave a Reply

