Ups and Downs

by

Often I get interested in statistics. For a long time my blog was getting an average of about one hit a day. My mood was often a little down as I wondered for whom I was writing. Ultimately I realized I needed to keep writing for me and hopefully, at least my friends and family might read. The first time I noticed a month with more than 10 hits every day, I was pretty excited. Soon after that I got a month with more than 20 hits per day.

After that I kept thinking I would get a month with more than 30 hits per day; however, for several months I would get 29 days with a lot of hits and then one day with 28 or 29 hits. It was a little frustrating. Last month I got more than 30 hits a day and it was looking like that would be followed by a month of 40 hit days; however, the other day I had a low. Internet traffic can be so capricious.

Anyhow, I’ll try not to get too tied up in all that. I imagine that if I keep writing daily about what I am learning, the traffic will continue to increase gradually.

6 Responses to “Ups and Downs”

  1. Dorothy W. Says:

    I get caught up in the ups and downs of stats too, and I don’t particularly like being that way. It’s hard not to, though. But I think everybody experiences ups and downs on their blogs, and summer is usually a slow time. The other thing to keep in mind is that some people read you from their feedreaders without coming to the site, so your stats don’t tell the whole story.

  2. Stefanie Says:

    Stats are fun but dangerous. I try not to think about them too much and look at them only once or twice a week. That said I do keep a monthly total so I can track them over time. It’s fun to see the six hits I got the first month I started blogging compared to what they are now almost five years later.

  3. fightingwindmills Says:

    I read your posts in the “blog surfer” and then I only come over to give you “a hit” when I want to comment or I want to see what others have said in comments. And when people go on a big trek through your archives just out of curiosity, you’ll notice a big jump in “hits” that will seem inexplicable. It’s good not to get too concerned. Your blog is great.

  4. びっくり Says:

    Yeah, I don’t know if the “blog surfer” adds hits, but I think feed readers are tallied in the total. Even though there were two low days, the average number of hits is continually rising. Thanks for the encouragement.

  5. titus2woman Says:

    I am enjoying your entire front page tonight~from manhole covers to wrasslin’ to no tattoos in baths~LOL! I don’t understand why not? Anyway, nothing in particular to say~just drinking it all in!

    OH~and LOLOL at your favorite childhood vacation! BOYS! LOVE that story! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  6. びっくり Says:

    Ah, tattoos in baths. That comes from the long-term practice of organized criminals getting their bodies tattooed everywhere that can’t be seen while clothed. The rule is just to keep out the gangs. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

