Lotus Hunt

by

HumidityI will be gone all day hunting for hasu (蓮・lotus flower) in Shiga Prefecture (滋賀県), home of the famous Lake Biwa (琵琶湖) with my new Canon EOS Kiss X2 camera. I just bought the camera after work and headed straight home to get the battery into a charger. The user interface is a little odd, but I have the mind of a tester and was getting a lot of it figured out without reading the manual. One bit of fun was stumbling upon a menu to change the language; once I switched to English it got a lot easier. The shot on the right is a 400×600 pixel slice from a full size shot I took. This was done hastily, but I am pretty impressed with what it can do relative to my old PowerShot A80.

I need to go on a little trip around the area taking shots of natural things. I really want to get up close and personal, so I may have to consider getting a wider lens with a lot of light-gathering capability…

Wet CanHere’s a thumbnail of the original image. I took a can of beer out of the fridge and put it in a hot, humid room for more than an hour. Beads of moisture were growing on the can.

5 Responses to “Lotus Hunt”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    Mmmmm, Asahi. Have fun photographing the flowers!

  2. びっくり Says:

    Thanks! I had a good time. I shot off about 200 pics. I think I got one or two good enough for the next photo exhibit. The camera was amazing and sexy. Should be able to upload a little tomorrow.

  3. Stefanie Says:

    Wow, what a great camera you got! Can’t wait to see the results of your lotus hunt!

  4. New Banner Image « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Neo-新びっくりブログ A dozen years later Bikkuri is once again loose in Japan… « Lotus Hunt […]

  5. Bookmarks about Thumbnail Says:

    […] – bookmarked by 1 members originally found by CroDigTap on 2008-10-08 Lotus Hunt https://shinbikkuri3.wordpress.com/2008/07/11/lotus-hunt/ – bookmarked by 3 members originally […]

Leave a Reply

