SiLLiNeSS

by

Last August several new teachers came to Tsu to teach English at junior high and elementary schools. We took a little shopping trip one day to a place called Sun Valley. Everyone was fresh off the plane and things got a little silly at the stores. Mari-sensei, fortunately (or not) snapped some photos for posterity. Exercise MachineOur first photo today is me on a Joba, which is a piece of exercise equipment which simulates horse riding. Afraid to turn the machine on, I sat down and pretended it was live. I even got the real rodeo arm motion going, but I couldn’t make it to the bell: I fell off after seven seconds.

Examining the background of the photo, I realized they were pushing these as gifts for a holiday I like to translate as Old Folks Day, but I think they were calling it Aging Day. I think Keirou no Hi (敬老の日) is usually translated as Respect for the Aged Day.

After running rampant in the electronics area, we switched to fashion. Often, the high prices of clothes shock me, but the sales can be equally extreme. Hair ExtensionsHere you see me wearing a powder blue linen jacket and, to be at the height of fashion, notice that I left the card in the breast pocket that explains it is real linen. I decided to finally post these snapshots partly because my hair was a bit long and curly, as opposed to the recent cutting and shaving. Perhaps you can see the hair extensions that I was trying on at the time. Naturally, I didn’t purchase that, but it was fun to be a little silly.

Oh, also, the SiLLiNeSS heading was inspired by Titus 2 Woman.

3 Responses to “SiLLiNeSS”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    Sweet extensions! I loved playing with those in Japanese department stores. Here’s to “good aging”!

  2. titus2woman Says:

    HA! I am honored! I need to get back to my own SiLLiNeSS! posts…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. びっくり Says:

    Titus – I’m sure I can’t beat your SiLLiNeSS posts; you have so much inspiration. Perhaps, if I fill a house with my kids… I got a girlfriend finally, so there is some hope.

    FW – funny that we both felt drawn to play with the extensions. Good Aging to you, as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

