Solid Footing

by

After months with two flat tires, I finally got around to repairing my bike. I like to run the tires at high pressure to reduce friction on the road because, of course, I love to ride fast and free. My bike unfortunately likes to bite through the tubes at the base of the stem when I run at high pressure. I have to remember not to go all the way to 7 bars. Some of the delay in getting repaired was because most bike shops are set up to service the Mama Chariots, as we call them here, and they don’t have any big narrow tubes with presto valves. It took awhile before I arranged some time to get the spares; however, a lot of delay has come from me not making the time or just being lazy.

Today, I left work, went shopping, repaired my bike, watched SG-1, and clipped in for a test run. I bought two-sided pedals with SPD clips on one side and flat decks on the other side. I did this so I could take joy rides in normal shoes, but because of that, I can’t remember the last time I clipped into my pedals. Riding as one with the bike really feels different. I was afraid that my physical condition, having declined a lot lately, was going to be a problem, but I zipped off toward the mountains and back, covering about 20km. It really is a good feeling to shoot down the road and see what’s around the next corner, or through the next glade.

I hope to get a lot of joyrides in this summer.

4 Responses to “Solid Footing”

  1. titus2woman Says:

    AH we have (or had) this in common. I used to ride to work (YEARS AGO~before kids!) about fifteen miles each way, every day. I LOVED IT! EXCEPT when mean drivers were around~the kind that lean out of their window and scream in your ear~VERY unsettling! I invested in a really good bike back then so the ride wouldn’t beat me up, but I never did try toe clips….

    As a kid I had a racing bike, but it was too much for me back then. It was so light that it slipped out from under me a lot~I wasn’t racing! LOL! I also flipped over the handlebars A LOT….

    Now I’d make it maybe a block? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. titus2woman Says:

    OH~ETA=”Edited To Add”

  3. Dorothy W. Says:

    Glad you got the bike working again — enjoy your riding!

  4. びっくり Says:

    Dorothy – thanks, I forgot how much the sit-bones hurt when getting back into riding. However, I won’t give up.

Leave a Reply

