Badge of Honor

by

Yesterday we had fun listening to the students’ self introductions; however, this activity is not without danger. One student created the sentence, “I can do a side turn.” for her special ability. Her presentation was great, but I wasn’t sure what she meant by side turn, so I asked.

A lot of the students in Japan learn how to ride unicycles, so I assumed it was one of the 90 degree turns they execute. The teacher said no and, taking a cue from my playbook, suggested the student show me. Her protestations keyed me in on the fact that she was going to do a cartwheel. She was worried about the tight space at the front of the class, so the teacher had everyone move their desks back. She was also worried about her shirt coming up, but the teacher insisted that her tight shirt wouldn’t move much.

One time a helicopter gunship pilot praised my situational awareness; well, today that caused some trouble. I noticed that shooting across the room at an angle would keep the student safe, but the floor has a parquet pattern. I assumed the student would follow the natural lines in the room and saw that the podium like desk with sharp corners would be right in her path. I grabbed the outside corner of the desk firmly and watched carefully. Sure enough she performed a nice cartwheel, planted her feet near me and stood up right into my knuckles. She winced in pain and I checked to see if she was alright – after all it must have felt about the same as if I punched her in the back. Within seconds she was chipper as usual.

While I was pleased that I had been able to protect her from the sharp pain the desk would have caused. I am less excited about my badge of honor: a nice blood blister on the tip of my index finger.

3 Responses to “Badge of Honor”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    Ouch for the blister, but what a nice thing you did!

  2. びっくり Says:

    For some reason the blister hasn’t really hurt. However, it is really dark and after calligraphy class I kept thinking I had ink on my finger.

  3. Blood Beans « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] My badge of courage is almost healed. Explaining it to people required that I learn some new words. […]

Leave a Reply

