Windmill Inspired

by

Fighting Windmills did a photo mosaic meme and I thought I would give it a try. I was very inspired from the beginning, but got rapidly disenchanted with Flickr search and with Big Huge Labs. The plan was to do 12 Flickr searches and take one picture from the first page of each search. Using Big Huge Labs mosaic building tool the resulting image could be posted.

My disenchantment with the search tools came when I realized that I was seeing the same photos over and over, regardless of my searches. Clearly people are rigging their search parameters which puts things out of context and reduces the utility rapidly. My disappointment with Big Huge Labs came when I finished the image and they provided a “service” to upload the image to Flickr for me. All I had to do was click one button and give them access to everything in my account. Seems extremely suspect to me. I save the graphic file and uploaded myself, but I think I will avoid them in the future.

The 12 searches are:

  1. Your first name
  2. Current favorite food
  3. Your high school
  4. Your favorite color
  5. Your celebrity crush
  6. Your drink of choice
  7. Your dream vacation
  8. Your favorite dessert
  9. What you want to be when you grow up
  10. What you love most in life
  11. A one word description of yourself
  12. Your Flickr name

mosaic6473121

Always needing to be different, instead of choosing a 3×4 layout, I chose the 4×4 with large center image. That resulted in 13 images, so I did a search on “About Me” for the center shot. Not sure why the lionness appeared with that search, but I like her sitting there watching the other images. Another search peculiarity is that I got a large number of images from people in Japan. It seems the search is skewed by location. One peculiarity of the mosaic tool is that when I avoided the security breach I lost the link to give credit to the owners of these photos. I won’t hassle with it unless one of them hunts me down and sues me.

Here are my search parameters:

  1. Erik (I normally avoid my true identity online)
  2. Sashimi (actually, 刺身)
  3. Lake Washington (actually returned image from Enchantment Lakes basin)
  4. Blue (funny that the photo is green)
  5. Yasuko (Mitsuura Yasuko or 光浦靖子 is her name but I couldn’t find any photos with those searches.)
  6. Water (Not that I would drink the water in Shanghai)
  7. 旅館 (a traditional Japanese inn) – I guess I am living my dream
  8. Ice cream
  9. in love
  10. Jesus Christ
  11. severe
  12. びっくり (Shin Bikkuri Man, and any combination thereof, yielded no photos. Strange, I would have expected my user name to turn up my photos at least. Anyhow I shortened it to my basic moniker.)

OK, I wanted to give credit where credit is due. I figured out how to repost the data and recover the credit link: Center. stealthily, the queen’s mad-eyes…, 1. VideoCam on Erik’s Rocket, 2. Salami, 3. Blazing Enchantments, 4. blue, 5. fukusuke-pon 福助ぽん, 6. Asian Manhattan, 7. tea garden – gate, 8. gluttony, 9. a little rust, 10. set me free, 11. Great Crested Flycatcher 2, 12. A Beautiful Accident

5 Responses to “Windmill Inspired”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    Why do you describe yourself as severe? I’m so sorry that BigHugeLabs gave you trouble and then you were getting repeats on the photos. I really like the びっくり result that you got, though! Your mosaic turned out so well.

  2. Stefanie Says:

    Pretty mosaic! I wouldn’t describe you as severe, at least you don’t seem so online.

  3. びっくり Says:

    One word descriptions are so tough. Severe is kind of an interesting word because we almost always jump to its negative connotations. My grandfather was one of the most severe people I know, but he was so loving and gentle. When someone disappointed him, they knew; however, one could always see that he loved them very much.

    When the teachers say the kids can’t do something, I give them a very sharp response. A lot of my edges have been tempered over time, but certain things must be protected and draw a reaction from me.

    Perhaps I should ask others to pick a one word description of me and see what comes back. 🙂

  4. fightingwindmills Says:

    My one word for you is “careful”. What do you think of that?

  5. My Crush « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Fighting Windmills inspired me to do the Flickr Mosaic Meme the other day. Question number five was: Who is your celebrity crush? I chose Mitsuura Yasuko […]

Leave a Reply

