Shedding the Old

by

I wanted to post a lot about the journey to Akame Falls, but time is slipping away fast, so I’ll just post a little. There is a concept of “unfortunate age” in Japan. Mine has just ended on my birthday (Saturday). Normally I give little credence to such ideas but, although I have received many blessings over the last year, there were also a few difficult trials. Ready for AdventureAdditionally, bad habits crept in and old habits are rearing their ugly faces. Desiring to leave all this behind and desiring a symbol of that change, I shaved my head on Friday night around midnight. Here is a photo with my sandogasa on to protect my bare head from sunburn.

Future posts will have more detail about more signs of change, how to find a barber at midnight, and some photos. Please be patient, as Thursday through Sunday are once again insanely busy this week.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Shedding the Old”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    You look great in that hat, Bikkuri! I like that you chose to shave your head to get a fresh start. That makes sense to me.

  2. びっくり Says:

    I’m glad it made sense to someone… I got a strange reaction from many others. In any case, I will be satisfied with a clipper cut if I ever do this again. I really wasn’t keen on the feeling of a shaved head. I was expecting it to be smooth, but it was extremely rough.

  3. Independence Together « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Finally, I can tell the story about my trip to Akame Falls in more detail. I played with the mosaic maker a bit to see if it […]

  4. Cue Ball Glare « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] Ball Glare Remember I shaved my head on June 13th in the evening in preparation for my journey to the waterfalls. On a whim I snapped a […]

Leave a Reply

