Fifth Place

by

Every month we have a casual photo contest at the Hisai chapter meeting of the All-Japan Association of Photographic Societies (全日本写真連盟久居支部月例会). Each member tosses down a handful of photos. Our teacher pulls one or two photos from each person’s submissions, and then lines all of the selected photos up in order. First place receives ten points. Tenth place receives one point. The rest are scaled in between. During the selection process our instructor gives a lot of general and specific advice about the photos. The direction is useful for me to learn more about photo art, but also to learn more jargon in Japanese.

HigumiOn Boy’s Day five of us took a trip to Hamamatsu (浜松) in Shizuoka Prefecture (静岡県) for the annual kite festival. About 50 teams fly kites that must be about 2m x 3m. It is quite a site to see; more for the activity on the ground than for the array of kites in the sky. Rain and low winds made for horrible kite flying, but excellent photo ops. All sorts of special methods were used to get the kites airborne. Care was taken to keep the kites as dry as possible on the way to the field. Being made from paper, the kites would get heavy or tear once they got too wet. I snapped one shot of four Higumi members hauling away a kite tattered by the rain. This photo netted my highest finish at a monthly meeting, with a nice fifth place/six-point selection. (I managed to squeak by the number one point-earner from last year, which is not a simple feat.)

Properly cropped and bordered perhaps it could have been fourth. Certainly those are two tasks in which I have to start investing time. Most of my photos are just raw prints of whatever I thought was good at the time I pushed the button.

2 Responses to “Fifth Place”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    Nice photo! 🙂 I love Hamamatsu.

  2. びっくり Says:

    Tonight at the anniversary party of my “father’s” hospital, I found out that the top 5 places each month get written up in the paper. Ironically, it appeared in the newspaper at the same time as I was posting it on my blog. Hamamatsu was fun… I think I will head there next year with a new camera.

Leave a Reply

