Reconnecting

by

About 16 years ago I lost contact with someone. On Tuesday last week they found me through my LinkedIn profile. Looks like I will get a chance to see her tomorrow. I just hope I can remember all the things I should apologize about.

Tonight we had another Taco Party. It is always nice to make good Mexican food. There really aren’t any good Mexican restaurants in the country. I got the word that one of the principals wants to join our next party. The amusing thing was when I heard that she thinks I am very kind. I expected her first comment about me to be that I am very direct because I was telling her very precisely about the behavior problems in 4th, 5th, and 6th grade classes.

We worked a little more on the June 14th events as well. There is a Japanese concept of “the unfortunate age” called yakudoshi (厄年). For men that age is 25, 42, or 60. I will be turning 43 on the 14th and my unfortunate age will be ending. If all the plans come together, we will be shaving my head that day, and visiting a waterfall – really closely. More on this later.

Also, we were getting sized for kimono today. I found that King-size was a little too small for me and I will probably have to get a custom made kimono. Fortunately, my connection loaned me her husband’s newest kimono for the June first event. I also ordered a double L sized samue (作務衣), which is a set of very casual pants and top designed for artisans and craftsmen. These should be comfortable for wearing when I am practicing shuji. I’m sure the arrival of my samue will warrant a picture or two on the blog.

8 Responses to “Reconnecting”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    Just out of curiosity, what is the unfortunate age for women?

  2. びっくり Says:

    I find conflicting info, but one dictionary says men are 25, 42, 61 and women are 19, 33, 37. It also seems to indicate there might be others.

  3. Sylvia Says:

    Uh oh…

  4. びっくり Says:

    I didn’t realize you were 19. 😉

  5. Sylvia Says:

    😉

  6. kevenker Says:

    So how did your meeting go with your long-lost friend? I’m amazed that they found you through linked-in. I can never seem to find anybody. Heck, I don’t even know if you’re in my network! 😛

  7. びっくり Says:

    Kev – yeah, sometimes I find the UI a little unfriendly. The friend was Saori. She has been trying to find me for awhile, so it wasn’t completely by chance. She put my name in before and found the article about cycling when I was in the Seattle Times, but I was wearing bike gear and the photo was through spokes, so she couldn’t tell if it was me.

    We had a nice long chat, drank some roasted tea, and ate at Sakamoto’s. It was great catching up on the 16 year gap and reminiscing about old times. Because of our business connections, she will be able to help me reconnect with a lot of folks. She has a dream to open a B&B for foreign visitors and teach culture classes there.

    Also, she told me she finally found a supplier for the silkworm food you wanted. Should she order some up?

  8. Shedding the Old « Neo-新びっくりブログ Says:

    […] but time is slipping away fast, so I’ll just post a little. There is a concept of “unfortunate age” in Japan. Mine has just ended on my birthday (Saturday). Normally I give little credence to […]

Leave a Reply

