Ode To Bikkuri

by

Editor’s note: this is the guest post that was making me laugh yesterday. I don’t think Kat intended the first paragraph to be published – probably it was a note to me – but I just had to include it (sorry Kat) for your amusement. I think this post puts in glowing terms, what my first guest said about me: “You know, you talk a lot.” Read on…

Ode To Bikkuri (Why isn’t this done yet?) <— Because my brain isn’t functioning. You want the post to make sense? Or do you wanna just post the big ball of mumbo jumbo leaking out of my head???

Bikkuri was an exceptionally gracious host. So much so, I find it difficult (impossible?) to express my appreciation for everything he did for me and set up for me to experience during my short stay in Japan. The trip was truly an experience of a lifetime and one that would never have come to fruition if not for Bikkuri. He really went out of his way to make me feel welcome and to show me very “Japanese-y” things. Additionally, since he is such an intelligent and knowledgeable individual, he was able to answer any questions I had. It is basically indescribable the vast amounts of knowledge Bikkuri has about a wide range of subjects. As an example, we went to a castle in Tsu. Every question I had, he was able to answer immediately or get the answer. He was able to describe, in great detail, why the castle grounds were set up as they were and paint a picture in my mind of how the battles were waged many years ago.

Even though he doesn’t practice Shintoism or Buddhism, he was still able to explain the customs which are practiced when visiting a shrine or temple, how they are set up, and why they are set up in such a way. He easily answered every question I had about streets we drove down and the structures we passed. Near the end of the week, it kind of became a personal challenge for me to see if I could find something that stumped him. I was never able to do so.

One would guess that Bikkuri has lived in Japan all his life, but in reality, it’s been less than 4 years. I wouldn’t be at all surprised to find people who have lived here all their lives who know far less than Bikkuri does about the area. That’s one of the many things that makes him so special–his desire to learn and his willingness to share. It’s also one of many traits which made him a wonderful friend to visit in a beautiful foreign land.

7 Responses to “Ode To Bikkuri”

  1. Stefanie Says:

    What a wonderful “ode.” Why does it not surprise me? 🙂

  2. fightingwindmills Says:

    Bikkuri, I wish I could know you in real life. You are a great blog host due to your willingness to share your knowledge on-line as well. That much I know for sure.

    Kat, that was really sweet to write an ode to your friend!

  3. Sylvia Says:

    Awww! How nice! Now I know who to look up if I ever go to Japan. 😉

  4. びっくり Says:

    Oh, of course you are all welcome to come. We are a little bit countryside, but there are a lot of important sites not too far away: old capitols, center of Shinto faith, Ninja castle, Basho’s hang out, Edogawa Ranpo’s hometown, F-1 track, sake breweries, traditional ink manufacturing, even a mysterious site built by ancient aliens (like Stonehenge). Give me a little advance notice if you can. 🙂

  5. verbivore Says:

    I just had the same but also the reverse (one of my dearest Japanese friends visiting me here in Switzerland) and spent a week showing her around a place where, like you, I’m not a native but I have so much curiosity for the culture and the history. I love being able to answer her questions and she didn’t mind at all when I talked too much. 🙂 It was also a great week for my Japanese!

  6. びっくり Says:

    Glad to hear your friend had a good visit and you could practice your Japanese. Can we change your name to Verbose? 😉

    Along those lines, I had a colleague who modified his electronic dictionary so that when you entered ‘pedant’, it showed my name as the definition: I do love the details. 🙂

  7. verbivore at The Reading Writer Says:

    That’s hilarious – at least you can be good natured about it. And I am definitely verbose, in several languages…someday I’ll learn the fine art of keeping quiet 🙂

Leave a Reply

