Got the Job

by

Got a phone call in the afternoon telling me that the Director of the Board of Ed. has accepted me as a teacher. They told me they would send some information in the mail. A couple hours later the postman rode up on his scooter and banged on my door. Normally he just tosses the mail in my slot and is zipping away as it hits the floor.

Why the special concern? Well, it was the letter that was sent earlier in the afternoon. It has sokutatsu (速達・express delivery) stamped at the end and 350 yen in stamps. I would have walked over to get it, but I think official documents might need a paper trail.

The document inside is a naiteitsuuchisho (内定通知書). The English translation says “Notice of Appointment”, but the Japanese is really “Informal Notice”. I guess we’ll be taking care of the contract next week sometime. I’ve written before about how a contract in Japan is often a formality; once people have agreed on terms there is technically no need for the document. “My word is my bond.”

Starting April 1st, I’ll have enough money to buy groceries again. 😉

7 Responses to “Got the Job”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    Woo hoo! Congratulations!

  2. fightingwindmills Says:

    Awesome news, Bikkuri! 😛

  3. Stefanie Says:

    Congratulations!

  4. Keven Says:

    Congratulations!

  5. びっくり Says:

    Thanks a lot. I was pretty confident that I would get the job. The really good news is that I probably won’t have to do any junior high duty. I wonder if there is a country in the world where teenagers aren’t trying everyone’s patience. 🙂

  6. Dorothy W. Says:

    Congratulations! That’s awesome!!

  7. The Fish Ball Soup Guy Says:

    WOOOOHOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!! CONGRATS ERIK!

Leave a Reply

