Dumb It Down

by

Editors note: Kat returned to America last Friday and is finishing up the rest of the posts she started while she was here. Here’s one. Another draft came in and I’ll post it tomorrow after I stop laughing long enough to edit it. 🙂

One thing I noticed during my short stay in Japan is my brain seemed to shut down. The Japanese I knew before I visited? Gone. Fluency in the English language? Gone. Everything about anything? Gone. If something was said to me, one second later, I’d forgotten it. I believe the only thing I knew was my name…and even that, I was a little iffy on at times. I personally confirmed the theory that the brain is like a sponge; then I took it one step further and discovered that if it gets over-saturated, everything starts leaking out. It’s a good thing Bikkuri took me to the airport to see me off; otherwise, I probably would have forgotten that airplanes exist and started swimming.

3 Responses to “Dumb It Down”

  1. fightingwindmills Says:

    This is so true of my first experience in Japan! I started spending the entire afternoon asleep because I couldn’t even deal with being awake I was so dumb. I would dream in Japanese and not even understand my own thoughts during my dream!

    That is such a funny phrase though (“everything about anything? gone.”) for someone who has lost her brain. I loved reading this post, Kat! Well done. 😀

  2. びっくり Says:

    I caught her taking photos of signboards at train stations. They would read like “Tanaka Clinic” or something equally mundane. I laughed while asking about it. She said, “Oh, I like the colors”. Then I realized, I was taking pictures of buses, signs, etc., on my first trip, merely because they were ‘oddly’ colored. It was refreshing to see an image of myself from 19 years ago.

  3. Scavenger Hunt « the kat’s meow Says:

    […] it’s the button that shows the receiver being removed from the phone base. (Please see “dumb it down post” for my excuse as to why I couldn’t figure that […]

Leave a Reply

