Shocked by Secret Sock Stash

by

One knows they are collecting too much stuff when one finds surprises in the closets. Recently, I have been worried about my foot covering situation, but a little exploration solved the trouble.

My feet are referred to as 27.5 or 28.0 in Japan. That’s about a 9 1/2 or 10 in America. When I first arrived in Japan I found a lot of shoe stores with shoes and socks up to about 25.0, so I’ve relied on trips to Seattle to supply my footwear needs. REI has done a good job of providing shoes and Costco has kept me in socks. Recently my Keens have been falling apart under my big toe and my white tube socks are becoming heel-less at an alarming rate.

My mother had promised a shipment of socks at Christmas, but they never appeared. I am considering some traditional and stylish tabi socks, but today, while mining my closets, I struck a vein of socks. It is a rich vein, one might even say I hit the mother lode. I had collected a large number of comfortable Champion socks, both ankle high and calf high, and had set them aside in favor of the lighter socks. This was done because I only had access to a mediocre dryer.

Now that I have my technologically amazing washer/dryer, perhaps it is time to break out the Champions. This means I can put off the hunt for socks. It also means I should probably dig through my closets and figure out what other surprises I have tucked away and forgotten.

On a more interesting topic: my first visitor since 2005 is coming in this evening. Kat will spend a week here experiencing Japan. Since she works for a Japanese company, this should give her lots of topics to discuss with co-workers. We will set her up as a contributor on my blog, so look for some guest posts. Perhaps even a sleep-deprived, jet-lagged post tonight.

4 Responses to “Shocked by Secret Sock Stash”

  1. verbivore Says:

    Having visitors is always fun! Make sure to tell her she doesn’t need to bring any socks 🙂

  2. びっくり Says:

    Doh! Too late, she’ll be arriving in 5 hours.

  3. fightingwindmills Says:

    LOL! A bonus sock stash is great in the land of little feet. I used to find it amusing that women’s slippers are sold in sizes S, M, and L, but the L size is a US size 6. I love my Hello Kitty slippers, but my heels hang off the back edges!

    Your washer/dryer is so cool. I meant to tell you that earlier. I had an awful two-sided manual washer. I was glad when I moved out of Japan, if only because of that washer. I might have stayed decades if I had the Big Drum. 🙂

  4. びっくり Says:

    Yeah, heels hanging off the back of slippers is hard to avoid. At the school I am allowed to wear shoes inside, if they have never been worn outside. This helps a lot, since the slippers fly off my toes when I’m climbing stairs. A lot of the storekeepers tell me excitedly that they have LL size shoes, but they are usually just a little smaller than my feet. The strange thing is that I know a lot of Japanese people with feet as big as mine.

Leave a Reply

